Faculty of Law

Faculty of Law
Faculty of Law

Honouring Our Grads

Dean Bill Flanagan with the 2015 alumni award winners Kristin Muszynsky, Law’05, Rob Frater, Law’84, and Jim Parks, Law’71.

Queen's Law celebrates alumni success with four awards, distinguishing a wide range of alumni for their substantial contributions.

  • H.R.S. Ryan Law Alumni Award of Distinction
    (overall distinction)
  • Dan Soberman Outstanding Young Alumni Award
    (early-career success)
  • Justice Thomas Cromwell Distinguished Public Service Award
    (public service)
  • J.A. (Alec) Corry Distinguished Alumni Award
    (success in fields outside the practice of law)


Nominations for these awards are due in January of every year, with the awards given in April. Learn how to submit a nomination.

Read about the 2016 recipients of all four awards.

Past Recipients 

Ryan Award Soberman Award Cromwell Award Corry Award
Brian Rose, Law'74 (2016) Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Law'10 (2016) Justice Harvey Brownstone, Law'80 (2016) Leslie O'Donoghue, Law'88 (2016)
James Parks, Law'71 (2015) Kristin Muszynsky, Law'05 (2015) Robert Frater, Law'84 (2015)  

Greg Richards, Law'79 (2014)


Justice Jo'Anne Strekaf, Law'80 (2013)

David Allgood, Law'74 (2012)      
Hugh Christie, Law'81 (2011)      
Senator David Smith, Law'70 (2007)      
David Stratas, Law'84 (2005)      
Justice Gordon Sedgwick, Law'61 (2002)