Faculty of Law

Faculty of Law
Faculty of Law

Faculty Directory

Members of the law faculty at Queen’s have been honoured with research awards, grants and fellowships, and they are recognized nationally and internationally as leading experts in their fields. Our faculty members are frequently asked by governments and international organizations to advise on legal and constitutional reform and on public policy issues, and they often appear before parliamentary committees to testify on legal issues of local, national and international concern.

Full-Time Faculty: Teaching & Research
NAME TITLE

EXTENSION
(613) 533-6000

E-MAIL
Sharryn Aiken Associate Professor 78007 aiken@queensu.ca
Bita Amani Associate Professor 74252 amanib@queensu.ca
Martha J. Bailey Professor 77734 baileym@queensu.ca
Beverley​ Baines Professor 79589 bainesb@queensu.ca
Nicholas Bala Professor 74275 bala@queensu.ca
Kevin Banks Associate Professor 79244 banksk@queensu.ca
Richard P. Chaykowski Professor, MIR Program Director, Faculty of Arts and Science, and Associate Professor Law 77071 chaykows@queensu.ca
Arthur Cockfield Professor 78296 art.cockfield@queensu.ca
Christopher Essert Assistant Professor 75693 chris.essert@queensu.ca
Bill Flanagan Professor, Dean of Law 74285 w.flanagan@queensu.ca
David Freedman Associate Professor 78528 david.freedman@queensu.ca
Leslie Green Professor 75615 leslie.green@queensu.ca
Gail Henderson Assistant Professor 75332 gail.henderson@queensu.ca
Joshua Karton Associate Professor, Associate Dean, (Graduate Studies and Research) 79062 joshua.karton@queensu.ca
Lisa Kelly Assistant Professor 78531 lisa.kelly@queensu.ca
Lisa Kerr Assistant Professor 77603 lck2@queensu.ca
Mohamed F. Khimji Associate Professor and David Allgood Professor in Business Law 74282 mohamed.khimji@queensu.ca
Will Kymlicka Professor (Cross Appointed from Philosophy) 77043 kymlicka@queensu.ca
Erik S. Knutsen Professor 78360 knutsen@queensu.ca
Kathleen A. Lahey Professor 74277 kal2@queensu.ca
Nicolas Lamp Assistant Professor 79118 nicolas.lamp@queensu.ca
David Lyon Professor (Cross Appointed from Sociology) 74489 lyond@queensu.ca
Nancy McCormack Associate Professor 32465 nm4@queensu.ca
Cherie Metcalf Associate Professor, Associate Dean (Academic) 74267 metcalfc@queensu.ca
Bruce Pardy Professor 77570 pardyb@queensu.ca
Patricia Peppin Professor 77011 peppinp@queensu.ca
Michael Pratt Associate Professor 78599 m.pratt@queensu.ca
Darryl Robinson Associate Professor 75827 darryl.robinson@queensu.ca
Don Stuart Professor 74272 stuartd@queensu.ca
Jean Thomas Assistant Professor 77310 jean.thomas@queensu.ca
Grégoire Webber Canada Research Chair in Public Law and Philosophy of Law 78210 gregoire.webber@queensu.ca
Jacob Weinrib Assistant Professor 79649 jacob.weinrib@queensu.ca
Full-Time Faculty: Teaching
NAME TITLE

EXTENSION
(613) 533-6000

E-MAIL
Lynne Hanson Assistant Professor 77535 lh2@queensu.ca
Mary-Jo Maur Assistant Professor 77947 maryjo.maur@queensu.ca
Visiting Faculty
NAME TITLE

EXTENSION
(613) 533-6000

E-MAIL
David Miller Visiting Professor   dm176@queensu.ca
Noah Weisbord Visiting Professor 78772 noah.weisbord@queensu.ca
Sessional Instructors 2017-2018
NAME E-MAIL COURSE(S)
Anthony Ball anthony.ball@queensu.ca Negotiation
Frank Benedetto fbenedetto@fmlaw.ca Insurance
Andrea Boctor aboctor@stikeman.com Pensions and the Law
Sarah Bradley sarapbradley@gmail.com Corporate Finance
Colm Brannigan colm@mediate.ca Alternative Dispute Resolution
Christa Bracci christa.bracci@queensu.ca Introduction to Legal Skills/Advanced Legal Research
Brian Cameron bcameron@oatleyvigmond.com Personal Injury Advocacy
Donald D. Carter carterdd@queensu.ca Collective Agreement & Arbitration
Hugo Choquette hc39@queensu.ca Introduction to Legal Skills & Aboriginal Law
Ian Clarke ian.clarke@canada.ca Competition Law
Justin Connidis connidis@queensu.ca Mining Law and Policy
Nick Covelli nick.covelli@tribunal.gc.ca International Trade Remedies
Darryl A. Cruz dcruz@mccarthy.ca Trial Advocacy
Erin Dann edann@edlaw.ca Mental Health & Criminal Justice System
Paul Davis paul.davis@mcmillan.ca Contested Transactions
Mathieu Devinat mathieu.devinat@usherbrooke.ca Introduction to Civil Law
Shai Dubey shai.dubey@quensu.ca Negotiation
Mark Ellis mark.ellis@bakermckenzie.com Fiduciary Obligation & Trial Advocacy
Maureen V. Gauci maureen@gauci-mediation.com Alternative Dispute Resolution
Moya Graham mgraham@mccarthy.ca Trial Advocacy
Kevin Greenspoon kgreenspoon@dwpv.com Advanced Corporate
Debra Haak debra.haak@queensu.ca Introduction to Legal Skills
Robert Hammond rob@hammondosborne.ca Alternative Dispute Resolution
Tom Harrison thomas.s.harrison@queensu.ca Legal Ethics & Professionalism
Marlin Horst marlin.horst@shibleyrighton.com Commercial Law
Valerie Hughes valerie.hughes@queensu.ca International Trade Law
Suzanne Hunt shunt@tmlegal.ca Municipal Law
Andrew Kalamut akalamut@mccarthy.ca Trial Advocacy
Lanny Kamin l.kamin@on.aibn.com Trial Advocacy
Gerard Kennedy gerardKennedy@osgoode.yorku.ca Administrative Law
Dhaman Kissoon dkissoon@bellnet.ca Racism and Canadian Legal Culture
Will Kymlicka kymlicka@queensu.ca Animal Law:  Property, Personhold & Social Membership
David Law david.law@gowlings.com Occupational Health, Safety & Workment Compensation
Mariana MacIntosh mariana.macintosh@otpp.com Pensions and the Law
Berand Malsch bertrand.malsch@queensu.ca Accounting and the Law
Allan Manson mansona@queensu.ca Sentencing and Imprisonment
Martin Masse martin.masse@nortonrosefulbright.com International Trade Remedies
Todd McCarthy todd.mccarthy@fdemlaw.com Insurance 
Karla McGrath karla.mcgrath@queensu.ca Children's Law
Kevin McElcheran kevin@mcelcheranadr.com Commercial Bankruptcy & Restructuring
Justice Donald McLeod donald.mcleod@ocj-cjo.ca Trial Advocacy
David Miller david.miller@nuffield.ox.ac.uk Slate, Nation & Social Justice
Alison Mitchell alison.mitchell@outlook.com Public International Law
Kristin Muszynski kmuszynski@tmlegal.ca Advocacy on Motions
Warren Newman warren.newman@justice.gc.ca Comparative Constitutional
Rob Nicholls rantennis@gmail.com Advanced Corporate Law
Amy Ohler aohler@fentonlaw.ca Advanced Criminal 
Alexandra Pedersen a.pedersen@queensu.ca Mining Law and Policy
Saro Persaud saro.persaud@gmail.com Human Rights
Alexandra Popovici alexandra.popovici@usherbrooke.ca Introduction to Civil Law
Paul Salembier paul.salembier@rogers.com Legal Drafting
Jennifer Savini jsavini@tmlegal.ca Municipal Law
Brett Seifred bseifred@dwpv.com Advanced Corporate Law
David Sharpe dsharpe@bridgingfinance.ca First Nations Negotiations
Geoff Shaw gshaw@casselsbrock.com Franchise Law
Carolyn Shelley cshelley@cswan.com Trial Advocacy
Ian Smith ismith@fentonlaw.ca Advanced Criminal
Ian Speers ian@speers-law.com Land Transactions
Justice David Stratas dstratas@yahoo.com Legal Writing & Written Advocacy
Stephanie Sugar stephanie.sugar@queensu.ca Class Action:  Practice & Procedure
Thomas Sutton tsutton@mccarthy.ca Trial Advocacy
Michael Swindley mswindley@tmlegal.ca Trial Advocacy
Margaret Waddell marg@legaladvocates.ca Class Actions Practice and Procedure
Mark Weisberg weisberg@queensu.ca Legal Imagination
Warren WhiteKnight whiteknight@bergeronciffford.com Negotiation
Alan Whyte awhyte@cswan.com Negotiation
Owen Wigderson owenwig@rogers.com Trial Advocacy
Retired Professors
NAME TITLE E-MAIL
George W. Alexandrowicz Professor Emeritus alexndro@queensu.ca
Marvin G. Baer Professor Emeritus mgb1@queensu.ca
C. Gordon Bale Professor Emeritus jbale2@cogeco.ca
David Bonham Professor Emeritus dbonham@cswan.com
Donald D. Carter Professor Emeritus carterdd@queensu.ca
Phil Goldman   goldmanp@queensu.ca
Denis Magnusson Professor Emeritus magnussd@queensu.ca
Charlene Mandell    
Allan S. Manson Professor Emeritus mansona@queensu.ca
Susan W. Miklas   swm1@queensu.ca
David Mullan Professor Emeritus mulland@queensu.ca
Michael Pickard    
Toni Pickard   tonibluehair@cogeco.ca
Ronald R. Price Professor Emeritus rrp@queensu.ca
Stanley Sadinsky Professor Emeritus sadinsks@queensu.ca
Mark Weisberg Professor Emeritus weisberg@queensu.ca
John D. Whyte Professor Emeritus johnwhyte@sasktel.net