Faculty of Law

Faculty of Law
Faculty of Law

Nominate your fellow grads!

Each Queen’s Law Alumni Award is a spherical paperweight of hand-blown glass crafted by Kingston Glass Studio & Gallery. (Photo by Greg Black)

Queen’s Law offers four annual awards that celebrate the accomplishments of our alumni. Any member of the Queen’s Law community may nominate a graduate for an award.

Awards are generally presented at the spring alumni event closest to the recipient’s location.

H.R.S. Ryan Law Alumni Award of Distinction

Queen’s Law has a long-standing tradition of alumni who give back. The H.R.S. Ryan Award is presented to a graduate who has contributed significantly to the Faculty, University or legal profession. It is named in memory of Professor H.R. Stuart Ryan (LLD’91), a founding faculty member renowned for his distinguished and multifaceted career.

Dan Soberman Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Our alumni contribute to their profession and their community throughout their careers — often starting the moment they graduate. The Soberman Award is given to an alumnus or alumna who has graduated within the last 10 years, is 35 years of age or younger, and has demonstrated promising future leadership through outstanding professional achievement, community service or commitment to Queen’s Law. It was established in memory of Professor Dan Soberman (LLD’08), the youngest of three founding faculty members, who went on to serve as Dean of Law for two terms.

Justice Thomas Cromwell Distinguished Public Service Award

Established to honour Justice Thomas Cromwell (Law’76, LLD’10), the first Queen’s Law graduate appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada, the Cromwell Public Service Award is presented to a fellow Queen’s Law graduate who has demonstrated sustained outstanding service or significant contributions to the public as a government lawyer, public service lawyer, or member of the judiciary.

J.A. (Alec) Corry Distinguished Alumni Award - New for 2016

Many Queen’s Law alumni are parlaying their legal education into highly successful business ventures. The Corry Award will be presented to a graduate who has excelled in a career outside the traditional practice of law. It was established in memory of political scientist and Queen’s Principal Alec Corry (LLD’70), who spearheaded the re-establishment of Queen’s Faculty of Law and served as one of its founding faculty members.

Nominate an alumni!

Nominees must have received a JD, LLB, LLM or PhD from the Faculty of Law at Queen’s University. Any member of the Queen’s Law community may nominate alumni for these awards. Just fill out the form below; we may contact you for supplemental information on the person you have nominated.

Recipients will be selected by the Queen’s Law Dean’s Council Awards Committee, which is composed of the Chair and three other members.

Alumni Awards Form

Required fields are marked with an asterisk (*)

Nominator's Contact Information
Enter your first name
Enter your last name
Nominee Information
Please name the award and a brief explanation (less than 250 words) on why you think the nominee should receive it.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

If you prefer to submit a nomination via post or email, please contact:

Dianne Butler, Alumni Relations Coordinator
Faculty of Law, Queen’s University
Macdonald Hall
128 Union Street
Kingston, ON K7L 3N6

Deadline for nominations is February 1.