One of the world’s leading tax law scholars, a leading young gender equality advocate, a Cree former Chief turned entrepreneur, and a champion for prisoners’ rights have something in common. They are all winners of this year’s Queen’s Law alumni awards. 

Selected by the Dean’s Council awards committee from a strong list of nominees put forward by fellow grads, the 2022 winners are:

Professor Art Cockfield, Law’93 (posthumously)

H.R.S. Ryan Law Alumni Award of Distinction (for overall distinction in the legal profession)

A pre-eminent authority on tax law, financial crime, e-commerce, privacy, and legal ethics, he received research grants totaling more than $6 million and wrote seminal publications that were cited by the Supreme Court of Canada and met with wide interest and acclaim in several countries. He served as a consultant to the Government of Canada and the World Bank, was frequently sought out by the media for his expertise, and was a well-regarded teacher who scored consistently high evaluations from his students over two decades. 

Pam Hrick, Law’13

Dan Soberman Outstanding Young Alumni Award for early-career success)

Appointed Executive Director & General Counsel of the Women’s Legal Education and Action Fund (LEAF) in February 2021, she leads the organization’s work to advance gender equality through litigation, law reform, and public education. She clerked at the Federal Court of Appeal and Supreme Court of Canada, where she later appeared twice when practising with Stockwoods LLP. This long-time advocate for women, survivors of gender-based violence, and 2SLGBTQ+ communities also chairs The 519’s management board. 

Blaine Favel, Law’90

J.A. (Alec) Corry Distinguished Alumni Award for excelling in a career outside the traditional practice of law)

This former Poundmaker Cree Nation Chief and Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Grand Chief went on to become an entrepreneur, policy advisor, public advocate, advisor on Indigenous education, and the University of Saskatchewan’s Chancellor. He set up the first Indigenous casinos, helped establish Canada’s first Aboriginal-controlled bank, arranged significant Indigenous participation in several agricultural and energy companies, negotiated Indigenous interests in major western resource projects, and served as a Truth and Reconciliation Commission panelist. 

Catherine Latimer, Law’78

Justice Thomas Cromwell Distinguished Public Service Award (for sustained and outstanding public service)

As the John Howard Society of Canada's Executive Director since 2011, this past President of the National Associations Active in Criminal Justice and former adviser to the Solicitor General, Privy Council’s Office, and Justice Canada, continues to reform the criminal justice system. She played a lead role in developing the Youth Criminal Justice Act, has made countless appearances before Parliamentary and Senate Standing Committees, has supported public interest interventions before every court level, and is a member of the Order of Canada.  

“Among all the worthy nominations received for 2022, these four stood out as major influencers,” says Dean Mark Walters, Law’89. “Their leadership in affecting change – whether for legal professionals, academics and students, marginalized group members, or Indigenous peoples – has certainly enriched Canadian society as a whole.” 

The awards will be presented at the virtual Celebrate Queen’s Law reception in Toronto on June 2 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. To register, please complete and submit the Zoom form. 

Watch for upcoming feature stories on each of these alumni award recipients. 

By Lisa Graham