The Faculty of Law of the University of Hong Kong was established in 1969 as a Department of Law in the Faculty of Social Sciences; it became a School of Law in 1978, and a Faculty of Law in 1984. It is the first law school in Hong Kong and one of the most prestigious law schools internationally. The Faculty has over 60 full-time academic staff and about 1,500 students. Approximately 70 international exchange students are accepted to study each year.

The Faculty of Law is comprised of the Department of Law and the Department of Professional Legal Education, and four research centres: the Centre for Comparative and Public Law, the Asian Institute of International Financial Law, the Law and Technology Centre, and the East Asian International Economic Law and Policy Programme. It is also comprised of the Hong Kong Legal Information Institute.

HKU Faculty of Law now offers the JD degree.  It also offers a four-year LLB program, three double-degree programs, a professional qualification program, and LLM degree courses focusing on human rights, Chinese law, civic and commercial law, corporate and financial law, information technology and intellectual property.

Sessional Dates

  • First Semester: 12 teaching weeks from September to the end of November, with an exam period in December.
  • Second Semester: 12 teaching weeks from January to the end of April, with exams until the end of May; marks are not available until late June.  Note: Third-year JD students who attend in the second semester will not be able to convocate in the spring with their classmates.

Full-time Course Load

The normal load is five courses worth 30 credits for one semester.  Queen’s JD students will select courses from the JD listings for a total of 30 credits.



Visa application

Student Visa - Important Notes and Application Guidelines