The University of Cape Town (UCT) is South Africa's oldest university; in 2004 it celebrated its 175th anniversary. A large site on Cecil John Rhodes's estate in Rondebosch, on the slopes of Devil's Peak, was set aside to accommodate the University, which moved there from its old premises in Cape Town in 1929.

The Faculty of Law had its beginnings in the establishment of a lectureship in law at the SA College in 1859 and is the oldest Faculty of Law in South Africa. The Departments of the Faculty are located in the Wilfred and Jules Kramer Law School building on the UCT Middle Campus.

There are research and specialized units: the Institute of Development and Labour Law and the Shipping Unit (Commercial Law), the Law Clinic and the Centre for Socio-Legal Research (Private Law), the Institute of Marine and Environmental Law, the Law, Race and Gender Research Unit, the Democratic Governance and Rights Unit and the Centre of Criminology (Public Law). The School for Legal Practice falls under the Faculty Office.

Sessional Dates

  • Fall Semester:  Late July to mid-December.
  • Winter Term:  Mid-February to end of July.

Full-time Course Load

Exchange students must register for a full course load.  A full-time course load is a minimum of 72 NQF (national quality framework) credits per term (usually 4 courses per term) to earn 15 Queen's transfer credits.