Melbourne Law School was founded in 1857. In 2008, the law school changed its degree program from LLB to JD. All entry-level students are now admitted to the Juris Doctor degree program. In addition, a number of students are engaged in continuing education programs and graduate studies.

A special feature of the Melbourne Law School is its interest in the legal systems of other countries. The school has a long tradition of involvement in the world at large, and currently places emphasis on foreign and international law in research and teaching. The Law School also has centres promoting research and teaching in specialist fields: the Asian Law Centre; the Asia-Pacific Centre for Military Law; the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies; the Centre for Corporate Law and Securities Regulation; the Centre for Employment and Labour Relations Law; the Centre for Resources, Energy and Environmental  Law; the Centre for Media and Communications and Law; the Centre for Islamic Law and Society; the Institute for International Law and the Humanities; the Intellectual Property Research Institute of Australia; the Centre for Human Rights in the Melbourne Law School; the Competition Law and Economics Network; a Tax Group and an Obligations Group.

Sessional Dates

  • First Semester: February to Early June
  • Second Semester: Late July to Early November

Full-time Course Load

For one semester, 50 University of Melbourne credit points (four 12.5 point subjects) are equivalent to 15 upper-year Queen's credits.  If courses are taken at the LLM level, it may be possible to be approved to take three courses.