The Queen’s Law Alumni in Alberta Council was launched in January 2013 to create support for the Faculty of Law from the Queen’s Law Alumni currently residing in Alberta. To view Alberta Council Alumni click here.

Jennifer Addison

Jennifer Addison is Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary of EPCOR Utilities Inc. and oversees the delivery of all Canadian legal services for EPCOR, as well as compliance, ethics and privacy functions.  She is also responsible for information services, physical security and emergency management, and corporate procurement. As Corporate Secretary, Jennifer works closely with EPCOR's Board of Directors.

Council Member

Brianna Guenther

Brianna Guenther is Senior Legal Counsel at SemCAMS Midstream ULC (a subsidiary of Energy Transfer NYSE:ET and U.S. private equity firm KKR).  SemCAMS Midstream is a gathering and processing business and one of Alberta’s largest licensed gas processors.  It owns and operates six gas processing plants located in the heart of the Western Canadian Sedimentary Basin with combined licensed capacity of approximately 2 billion cubic feet per day.

Council Member

Imran S. Hussainaly

Imran S. Hussainaly serves as Senior Legal Counsel for Oilers Entertainment Group (OEG).
OEG owns the 5-time Stanley Cup Champion Edmonton Oilers, Edmonton Oil Kings and Bakersfield Condors and operates Rogers Place, North America’s premier and most technologically advanced sports and entertainment venue.

Council Member

Peter Johnson


Peter Johnson is the Executive Vice President, Chief Legal and Regulatory Officer for Shaw Communications Inc., and is responsible for Shaw’s Legal group, corporate governance, regulatory and government relations.

Council Member

Barbara B. Johnston, QC


Barbara Johnston is the National Co-Chair of Dentons Canada Labour and Employment Group and a partner in the Calgary office. Her practice focuses on management side labour, employment, human rights, constitutional and privacy law. Ms. Johnston has appeared before all levels of courts and administrative tribunals, including the Supreme Court of Canada, the Court of Appeal of Alberta, the Court of Queen’s Bench of Alberta, the Alberta Labour Relations Board, Human Rights Panels, Boards of Arbitration and Federal Labour Adjudicators. Ms.

Council Member

Leanne Krawchuk

Leanne is the head of the Dentons’ Edmonton Corporate Commercial group. Leanne is the Edmonton team lead for the Mining Practice Group. In her career, she has also been recognized as a leader among her peers, receiving the distinction of Lexpert’s 2012 “Rising Stars: Leading Lawyers Under 40” award, and recognized as one of Canada’s leading lawyers in the areas of Construction law, Securities law, and Mergers and Acquisitions. Leanne is also involved within the community, currently acting as a director of the Edmonton Symphony Society and the Francis Winspear Centre for Music.

Council Member

John B. McWilliams, QC

John is a graduate of University of Ottawa (BA) and Queen’s Law School. ( 72)

During his career he held a number of senior legal positions in the international energy industry including Mobil Oil Canada (General Counsel) and Nexen Inc (Senior Vice President, General Counsel) .

He has taken a leadership role in governance and business ethics, in particular developing a code of conduct for Canadian corporations operating internationally.

Council Member

Jean-Ann Naysmith Rooney

Jean-Ann is a member of the Queen’s Law 1984 class. She was born in Thunder Bay, Ontario, where she lived until the age of five. She then moved with her family to Ottawa where she grew up skiing, playing school sports and playing in a band. After high school, she attended Queen’s University and obtained a bachelor’s degree in English and Politics and then a Law degree. She had the privilege of playing on the varsity squash team for Queen’s, belonged to the Queen’s bands and was a don in the girls’ residences for the 3 years of law school.

Council Member

Karen Nixon

Before she retired in 2019, Karen was a partner in the Calgary office of EY Law LLP where her practice focused on the area of International tax law. She practiced tax with EY Law LLP and Ernst & Young LLP for over 30 years in their Toronto, New York and London, Ontario offices, spending the last 15 years in Calgary. In retirement Karen hopes to split her time between Calgary, Osoyoos, B.C. and Palm Desert, California. She enjoys reading, cycling, swimming, running and walking/hiking, and hopes to be able to travel again soon.

Council Member

Alicia Quesnel

Alicia K Quesnel (BA 1987, MA 1989, LLB (Queen's) 1993 and LLM 1994) is a partner with the law firm of Burnet, Duckworth & Palmer LLP (BDP) in Calgary, Alberta, and practices in the energy/commercial transactions and competition law groups.

Council Member

Andrew J. Trevoy

Andrew (“Andy”) Trevoy is an associate with Ogilvie LLP in Edmonton where he practices Small Business Corporate Commercial Law and Not-for Profit and Charities Law. Three years ago he merged his business law firm, Trevoy LLP into the Ogilvie practice.  Andy is also a partner in an Edmonton based private equity firm investing in and providing director level leadership to several Alberta-based private business organizations.  He does some Human Resources consulting, and is the co-founder and part owner of a business resourcing U.S. based small business trade mark owners.

Council Member

Blair C. Yorke-Slader, QC

Blair is Vice-Chairman of Bennett Jones LLP and a partner in the Calgary office. A Fellow of both the American College of Trial Lawyers and the International Academy of Trial Lawyers, he is a leading Alberta practitioner in high-stakes corporate and commercial litigation with an active trial and appellate business and energy litigation and arbitration practice.

Council Member